Spinning my Head Round

First several weeks now I’ve been iterating on one of the crucial and technically challenging parts of the short: the spin scene in which Grandma Ping de-ages. There are MANY factors to keep track of in this scene and on top of that, it’s important to time them all properly. But one issue that we’ve been having with this scene is the amount of information the viewer has to process on screen. In the 2D animatic, there is already a lot going on in the matte painting, and now, there are added props in the foreground. It feels a bit overwhelming at times, and the pressure to get this scene right is unbelievably high. That’s mostly my fault, I have a tendency to bear the burden more than I should when they don’t go well, but this time, I’m mostly scared of letting my team down. They’ve all worked so hard on this short, and everything looks amazing. The thought of our short not doing well because of this one scene that I couldn’t fix is a lot. But, at the end of the day, I know this is a team effort, and the thing that I love about my team is that they always have my back. We are going to figure this out together, and as a team, we will make one of the best shorts of CNM190.


In other amazingly fun developments, this week we had to make live-action references for our short and it was possibly the most fun I’ve had as a cameraman. Everyone in our team was so happy, light-hearted, humorous, and dedicated all at the same time. It was one of those moments that I’ll remember fondly from CNM190. It made me realize how much I really love my team and this class, and it is quite honestly the greatest honor and pleasure of my college experience to work with these amazing people. There’s only one semester of CNM190 left, and no matter how difficult things may seem sometimes, I want to cherish every moment, every small detail like the ones we experienced this week.

Leave a comment